Visitors to Nishi (West) Park will find Terumo Shrine, which was dedicated to military strategist Kuroda Josui and his son Nagamasa. The story of how the park was built is inscribed on a stone monument in front of the stone stairway. The park is a place of scenic beauty which is also known as a sacred mountain since Tosho Gongen was enshrined as protectorate god when Kuroda Nagamasa became a lord of the Fukuoka Domain. It was called Aratsuyama Park when it was turned into a park in 1881, but the name was changed to Nishi Koen in 1900. Trees such as cherry blossoms and maples were planted in 1885. As it is located in a hilly area, visitors can observe a panoramatic view of Fukuoka City on the sea side, as well as Nokonoshima Island in Hakata Bay and Shikanoshima Island on the other shore.
*About the Park: Area - 170,000 square meters (1,830,000 square feet)
*Accessibility: Wheelchair-accessible bathrooms; guide dogs permitted; changing tables (in the bathrooms)
|Address||810-0061 Nishi Koen, Chuo-ku, Fukuoka-shi, Fukuoka|
|Contact||Foundation Fukuoka Prefecture Park Management Center|
|Parking||Available; 20 vehicles; Free for one hour|
|Access||By subway - about a 10 minute walk from Ohori Koen Station of Fukuoka City Subway|
|Genre||Urban Parks (Parks)|